Skip to content

Coconut Lime Cake with Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

December 13, 2012

1st Cream Cheese Frosting 😀 (4 days left!)

Only 4 days left until I leave 21 years of age.  I had to try something new.   I wanted to practice my decorating skills so I thought making a frosting is a skill I definitely need to learn.  My partner brought some real red velvet cupcakes, as opposed to the cheap ones in chain stores.  After church he brought some for his family. We shared one and we really appreciated the homemade cream cheese frosting.  I needed to make my own.  I decided to use it on a cake that I thought about while waiting for my teacher to arrive for class.  I decided on a coconut lime cake made with wholemeal flour.  I was intrigued to see how wholemeal flour would change the texture and taste.  It was denser, tasted healthier, but I really enjoyed it.  The cream cheese frosting tasted fantastic with it!

20121207_121838

Sponge Ingredients:

170g butter, 170g caster sugar, 3 large eggs, 170g wholemeal plain flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 50g desiccated coconut, juice from 2 limes and the zest from lime,

Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

300g Philadelphia light cream cheese, 250g melted white chocolate, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tbsp icing sugar, fresh fruit for decoration.

Method:

1. Beat the butter and caster sugar until creamy in a large mixing bowl.
2. Add the eggs, one by one beating well after each addition.
3. Sieve in the flour and baking powder.
4. Add the coconut, zest and juice from the lime.
5. Mix everything together well.
6. Pour into a prepared baking tin.
7. Bake for 40 minutes at 120 degrees C.
8. Leave the cake to cool.
9. In a small bowl mix the cream cheese, white chocolate, vanilla extract and icing sugar.
10. Beat until thick and creamy.
11. Spread over the cakes and decorate with fruit.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

