Skip to content

Plum & Raisin Crumble

December 4, 2012

Love Eat Smile
Almost every time I see my partner I always make sure I treasure every moment and when I cook for him I hope to make new memories to associate the food with.  One day he and I were discussing school dinners and the foods we used to like to eat as children.  We both realised it had been a long time since we had eaten a crumble.  I had never made one before but I knew it would be a gleeful challenge.  I had so much fun making and tasting my crumble I ended up making a second batch.  It tasted great. Even after all of the ‘Masterchef’ crumbles I never realised the technique of crumble making was so easy.  My version includes lovely spices which gave me the inspiration for two more breakfast recipes.  The cooking never stops in Saffy’s world.

20121126_204027

Ingredients:

3/4 cup soft brown sugar, 1/2 cup sieved flour, 25g butter (cubed), 1/2 cup rolled oats, 2 tsps cinnamon, 2 tsps mixed spice, 1 tsp nutmeg, 5 plums (chopped into small pieces with the skin left on), 1/2 cup raisins, 1 tbsp honey, plain yoghurt  (to serve).

20121128_081140

Method:

1. In a saucepan heat up the raisins, and plums with the honey.
2. When heated through pour into a small square baking tray.
3. In a small bowl add the flour, sugar, butter and oats and crumble together with fingers.
4. Stir in the spices.
5. Spoon the crumble mix over the fruit.
6. Bake at 180 degrees C for 30 minutes.  The top should be browned.
7. Serve with a dollop of yoghurt.

20121126_202807

Saffy’s Top Tip:

1. Crumble over some shortbread biscuits for some extra crunch and crumbly goodness.

20121128_185621

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

