Skip to content

Carrot and Orange Soup

November 24, 2012

Sunbeams

I love cooking soup.  Many people avoid drinking soup due to the “boring” connotations but I believe in making the most out of everything.  The reasons why my soups taste so good is because I put so much love, flavour and animation into every batch.  The autumn showers had grown heavier so when I made this soup for my mother I imagined I was creating sunbeams.  Orange is associated with sunshine so I wanted my soup to be as bright as possible using only natural flavours and organic fruits and vegetables.

Stunning and Sweet

I originally thought that the cream would clash against the citrus flavours as the oranges I used were very bitter, however I added a pinch of nutmeg and used a good quality gluten-free vegetable stock.  The soup tasted delicious and although can be drunk without cream, the cream does add another warm comforting feeling and blends perfectly with the nutmeg. I would recommend blending the soup s the flavours can really infuse together, however it is quite nice to keep in little slices of carrot.

This recipe was adapted from The Best of Sainsbury’s Vegetarian Cooking (London: Reed Consumer Books Limited, 1993).

Ingredients:

25g butter, 500g carrots (peeled and sliced), 1 onion (peeled and chopped finely), 900ml vegetable stock, a pinch of sugar, salt and pepper, the juice of 4 oranges and the grated rind of 1, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 142 ml carton single cream.

Method:

1. Melt the butter in a pan.
2. Add the carrots, onion and cook for 10 minutes (make sure they do not brown).
3. Add the stock, sugar, salt and pepper to taste.
4. Bring to the boil.
5. Cover and simmer for 50 minutes (the carrots should be tender after).
6. Blend the soup in batches until smooth or use a hand blender.
7. Stir in the orange juice, rind and nutmeg.
8. Leave to cool slightly before adding the cream.

From → Soups

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

