Skip to content

Quorn and Vegetable Bake with Crusted Filo Topping

November 22, 2012

New Home Comforts

When you are home sick and still not completely comfortable in your new environment dwelling on the comforts you do not get to experience so often will only make things worse.  It is important to make new comforts and find new things which are easy to attain to make you feel “at home”.  During my MA I have felt so grateful to have had the luxury of living on my own, living in a peaceful environment and living in beautiful Barbados with my grandparents.  Though I still visit my other homes I have to find a way to make my current university my home.  For me, the kitchen is the heart of the home and in order to live up to being the head chef in my family I need to make sure I can make comforting food wherever I am.  I love mushy peas, pastry and interesting flavours so on a rainy and gloomy afternoon I conjured up this quick and lovely dish as a new comfort food for myself.

Ingredients:

1tbsp vegetable oil, 1 onion (chopped), 2 cloves of garlic (chopped), 200g quorn mince, 1 can of mushy peas, 100g Italian chopped tomatoes, 2 tsps mixed herbs, 2 heaped tsps whole grain mustard, 4 sheets of filo pastry, 3 tbsps of melted butter.

Method:

1. Heat up the oil in a saucepan.
2. Fry the onion and garlic until the onion is soft.
3. Add the quorn mince and cook until browned.
4. Add the mushy peas, tomatoes, herbs and mustard.
5. Cook on a medium heat for roughly 6 minutes then pour the mixture into a lasagna dish.
6. Layer on the pastry sheets and spread melted butter over each layer.  (Scrunch a few layers if you like to make a nice pattern.)
7. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes at 160 degrees C. Or bake until the pastry is crisp and browned.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

