Skip to content

Low- Fat Jamaican Cake

November 13, 2012

Kamaria’s Kitchen

I am launching Kamaria’s Kitchen as my new food business and blog. Kitchen Fraiche started as a hobby, but now it has turned into something incredible, more than just a querky twist on a South Park episode and my passion for cooking.  I will still be using my memorable catchphrases, but a month before my 22nd Birthday I felt it was time to take another step to making my dreams come true.  Please follow my new blog 🙂

The Art of Design

The core of my life is based around the art of design.  As a creative individual I am constantly dreaming, creating dances, music, food out of my wildest imagination. I admittedly do not bother to make certain dishes look aesthetically pleasing for various reasons, but when I do conjure up a new recipe in my mind I do try to also visualise how it will look on a plate.  One day I would like my own restaurant, cafe, fast food service, catering company… the works, therefore it is really important that I use my creativity to create attractive looking recipes as often as I can for practice.  Bees are attracted to more than just the nectar.

I made a beautiful low-fat Jamaican cake with a ‘maze like’ design topped with raisins.  I wanted the maze to symbolise a desire to search for a richer knowledge of my Caribbean heritage, hence the rich flavours and smells.

This recipe was adapted from ‘Levi Root’s Reggae Reggae Cookbook’ (Harper Collins Publishers Ltd, 2008).

Ingredients:

100g low-fat margarine, 100g dark soft brown sugar, 3 tbsps golden syrup, 1 large egg, 150g gluten-free plain flour, 2 tsps ground ginger, 2 tsps ground cinnamon, 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 75g raisins, white icing and raisins (for decoration).

Method:

1. Prepare a loaf tin.
2. Put the margarine, sugar and syrup into a pan on medium heat.
3. When the ingredients have melted set aside to cool.
4. Once it is cool add the egg.
5. Meanwhile sieve the flour and spices and bicarbonate of soda into a mixing bowl.
6. Pour in the wet ingredients.
7. Mix everything together.
8. Mix in the raisins.
9. Pour the cake mixture into the loaf tin and bake for an hour at 150 degrees C.
10. Let the cake cool on a wire rack and decorate with icing and raisins.

From → Baking, Desserts, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

