Skip to content

Cornershop Sardine Pasta

November 12, 2012

Fools

After having a very successful class with a visiting lecturer I was asked by fellow students how do I come up with “such good” questions and why am I not “afraid” to speak up in lectures.  I simply tell them that I know that I am not a fool and every question I ask is for my education and even if the question may appear to be silly at first it is for my benefit.  As I am so eager to learn I want to make the most of time on my course, therefore I am never a fool when learning.  The same goes for cooking, I like to ask questions. “Will these flavours work?” “How can I improve this recipe?” If anything you are a fool for not trying, and in this case making the same mistake twice.

A friend of mine wanted a fish pasta recipe that was fool-proof.  She had many attempts of trying to make pasta and failed miserably by under cooking it and over cooking it.  The disaster didn’t stop there as she burnt her pan-fried fish and attempted to add the badly cooked pasta without any oil resulting into the pasta sticking to the pan.  Little did I know she had made pasta meat combinations many times badly and never thought about how she could improve.  The only foolish thing she didn’t do was asking me for help.  Here is a fool-proof fast and tasty fish pasta dish.

This recipe was adapted from ‘Good Housekeeping’ (April,2012).

(serves roughly 4 people)

Ingredients:

300g wholemeal pasta, 3 slices of wholemeal batch bread (stale), 4 tbsps vegetable oil, 2 x 120g tins sardines, large handful chopped basil, a handful of pitted green olives (chopped), finely grated zest and juice of a lemon.

Method:

1. Bring a large pan of water to the boil then cook the pasta according to the instructions.  (Keep an eye on it as wholemeal pasta tends to take a little bit longer then other pasta.)
2. Crumble the breadcrumbs onto a plate and set aside.
3. Heat  1 tbsp of oil in a small frying pan.
4. Fry the breadcrumbs until golden brown.
5. Put the crumbs back onto the plate and set aside.
6. Drain the pasta when it has been cooked.
7. Heat up the sardines, basil, olives, lemon zest and juice in the pan with 1 tbsp of oil.
8. After about a minute or two add the pasta back into the pan and mix everything together.
9. Season to taste.
10. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

