Skip to content

Carrot & Spinach Muffins

November 6, 2012

Born to do it

When I was a little girl I had many dreams. As a young woman I still do. Cooking has become so much more to me than just a simple pastime.  I dream of new recipes and just imagine opening my own shop one day and selling goods at the food markets.  Cooking gives me a new dimension to my life which is even more enriched than it ever was.  My muffins demonstrate this, although I was inspired by a magazine I changed the recipe to a savoury muffin which tastes fantastic with a variety of meals such as soups and salads.  I personally like to eat them with a lovely spicy chutney, my partner decided to eat them with cod and a tomato sauce and my mother had them as part of a healthy breakfast with cheese and with potato and lentil soup.  Admittedly they are very unusual, but they are great little inventions that could add some more depth to your meals.  Imagine! Savoury Muffins the new fashion food for the early winter season. Late summer was Mexican Nachos, I think it’s about time Saffy started some new food trends 😉

This recipe was inspired by Morrisons Magazine (Jan/Feb 2012).

Ingredients:

250g plain flour, 1 tbsp baking powder, 150g spinach (finely chopped), 200g tinned baby carrots (drained and chopped), 90g strong cheddar (grated), 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp oregano, 2 eggs, 100ml vegetable oil (I used ‘Crisp ‘n Dry’), 150ml skimmed milk, 100ml low-fat natural yoghurt.

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees c.
2. Line 12 muffin tin with cases.
3. Sift flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl.
4. Add the vegetables and cheese.
5. Add the nutmeg and oregano.
6. Beat together the eggs, oil, milk and yoghurt.
7. Add this to the other ingredients in the large mixing bowl and fold together.
8. Divide into the muffin cases.
9. Bake for 30 minutes until well risen, golden and a metal utensil comes out clean when inserted into the centre.

From → Sides, Snacks, Starters

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

