Skip to content

Spice-up Tuna & Sweetcorn Sandwich

October 28, 2012

Fabulous Filling

I love my jazzed up version of the classic tuna and sweetcorn filling.  It’s just so great! The little extra touches of seasoning and kiss from the juice of a lime gives this filling a fantastic make over.  I love tuna and sweetcorn sandwiches, they remind me of when I was a little girl on trips with my mother.  We would always have special lunches and  I always picked out tuna and sweetcorn sandwiches.  As I was making my sandwich I remembered the personal jokes we made, like imagining my wedding serving only tuna and sweetcorn sandwiches. I always say the best food brings back precious memories.  Sandwiches do not have to be boring, lunch can be just as great as breakfast.

This recipe was adapted from ‘Levi Roots’ Reggae Reggae Cookbook’ (Harper Collins Publishers Ltd, 2008).

Ingredients:

1 x 100g tinned tuna (drained), 3 tbsps tinned sweetcorn (drained), 1 tbsp mayonnaise, 1 tbsp fiery tomato ketchup, 2 tsps hot pepper sauce, 2 spring onions (chopped), 1 garlic clove (peeled and chopped), a squeeze of lime, a dash of black pepper, 2 slices of wholemeal seeded batch bread, 1 tsp low-fat margarine.

Method:

1. Apart from the  bread and margarine mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl and season to taste.
2. Butter the bread and put the filling in between the two slices.

Saffy’s Top Tip:

Use this recipe for a filling for jacket potatoes.

From → Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

