Skip to content

Scones

September 11, 2012

Classic Pleasures

For me scones are classic treats which remind me of tea times with my mother, and more recently personal memories shared between me and my partner.  I had planned to take him to a decadent tea time afternoon in a country hotel for our anniversary.  However, these plans did not go through so I decided to create our own tea time by making a selection of cakes and scones served with strawberries and clotted cream to mark the end of the British summer.  If I had known how easy it was to make scones I would have been making them a long time ago.  Also when I made these scones I noticed how much my dough making skills had improved.  It looked like it was good enough for a cooking show, I was so proud.  My partner told me I couldn’t stop beaming in the kitchen.  So here is my recipe for my first ever scones. Enjoy!

This recipe was adapted from ‘Asda Magazine’ (Publicis Blueprint Ltd, July 2012).

Ingredients:

225g self – raising flour, 55g unsalted butter (chilled), pinch of salt, 50g golden granulated sugar, clotted cream and strawberries (to serve).

Method:

1. Sift the flour into bowl with a pinch of salt.
2. Add the butter by cutting into cubes.
3. Using your hands make fine breadcrumbs with the flour and butter.
4. Pour  most of the milk into a well in the centre of the flour leaving a little bit for brushing the scones with.
5. Using hands make the mixture into a spongy dough.
6. Pre heat the oven to 200 degrees C.
7. On a lightly floured surface knead the dough until smooth.
8. Make scone shapes or use pastry cutter about 5 cm in diameter.
9. When all of the rounds have been made put onto a baking sheet on a baking tray brush with milk.
10. Bake the scones for 11 minutes.
11. Let them cool and serve with cream and fruit.

From → Baking, Breakfasts, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

