Skip to content

Double Chocolate Cakey Brownies

September 1, 2012

“So Yummy”

I was given lots of lovely praise for my double chocolate brownies.  I have been on the hunt for brilliant brownie recipes and I am pleased that my brownie making has definitely improved.  I began by making a sweet melted chocolate mixture and then I spotted the rum.  I didn’t want my brownies to taste of rum but I wanted to add more depth to the taste as I had included so much chocolate.  I also used vanilla essence and marshmallows. Served warm with whipped cream I guarantee nothing but smiles for chocolate lovers.

This recipe was adapted from ‘Fine Cooking’ Magazine (Dec, 2005).

Ingredients:

50g soft margarine, 4 tsps cocoa powder, 20 spoons of sugar, 2 large eggs, 1/4 tsp salt, 15 tbsps plain flour, 90g marshmallows, 25g butter, 100g plain chocolate, 2 tsps dark rum, 1 tsp vanilla essence, white chocolate (to melt on the top).

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
2. Prepare a metal baking pan.
3. Melt the soft margarine  in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
4. Off the heat, add the cocoa. Whisk until smooth.
5. Add the sugar and salt and whisk until blended.
6. Add 1 egg and whisk until just blended.
7. Whisk in the vanilla and the second egg until just blended.
8. In a small saucepan melt butter, marshmallows and chocolate. Leave to cool.
9. Add the rum to the  brownie mixture.
10. Sprinkle the flour over the mixture and stir with a rubber spatula until just blended.
11. Add the cooled melted chocolate, butter, marshmallow mix.
12. Scrape the batter into the prepared baking pan and spread evenly.
13. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with small, gooey clumps of brownie sticking to it, 33 to 38 min. Don’t overbake or the brownies won’t be fudgy. Transfer the baking dish to a rack and let cool completely.
14. Place white chocolate bits over brownie to let melt if desired.

 

From → Baking, Desserts, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

