Skip to content

Kale and Potato Soup

August 1, 2012

Hunger To Learn

My soups just get better and better! It is definitely not luck anymore.  I have really developed a knack for fusing different types of flavours and making the right judgements on how to season my food.  I am not a masterchef just yet as there are so many skills, tricks, recipes and techniques I still need to learn, but some day I will get there.  Today my mother told me a very inspiring story about how my grandmother trained as a  head chef in England and continuously worked hard despite being discriminated against because of her colour.  My grandmother had a hunger to learn, I truly believe I inherited that from her.  I aspire to be like her, she was a true inspiration and genius in the kitchen.  This soup, crunchy, creamy with a light but kind bitterness is not just a soup but a dish which marked the evening I decided I would put my heart and soul into every dish I made, to make my Grandmother proud.  Oh yes! Even the simple soups and cheese on breads 😉

Ingredients:

6 new potatoes (washed), 25g butter, 2 small onions (chopped finely), 1 clove of garlic (chopped finely), pepper, salt, 25g plain flour, 1 pint of stock (made from 1 stock cube), 150g kale (washed), 2 tsps dried dill, 1 tbsp plain yoghurt.

Method:

1. Boil potatoes for roughly 10 minutes.
2. Melt butter in another pan (large).
3. Add onion and garlic to the butter.
4. When the onion and garlic is soft season with a little pepper and salt.
5. Sieve in the plain flour and stir.
6. Add the stock so that it thickens.
7. When all of the stock has been poured in cut in the potatoes and add the dill. Then leave to simmer for 10 minutes.
8. Add the kale and mix the soup.
9. Leave to simmer for another 10 minutes.
10. Remove from the heat and allow the soup to cool a little.
11. Blend with a hand blender.
12. Add the yoghurt and stir.
13. Season to taste and serve.

From → Starters

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

