Skip to content

Cheese and Peanut Biscuits

August 1, 2012

My Genius Mother

When it comes to making unusual dishes I get my sense of adventure from my mother.  Gran Gran was a traditional cook but my mother loves to eat unusual combinations.  I know better than to be skeptical about her recipes as she never ceases to amaze me.  My mother has created some of the most fantastic snacks just from a few ingredients.  I definitely have the best genes for being a natural cook.  She once made a peanut butter and honey sandwich and also holds the secrets to the best cheese sandwich recipes.  I thought I would take a page from my mother’s book and try making cheese and peanut biscuits.  Oh my they were sensational!  The biscuits were buttery, and just melted beautifully in my mouth.  I used over twice as much cheese because  peanut butter is quick thick and has quite a strong taste.  I would recommend doing this in order to get the best of both flavours.  I also used the breadcrumb technique to make the dough to get a better texture.

This recipe was adapted from ‘The Best of Sainsbury’s Vegetarian Cooking’ (Reed Consumer Books Limited, 1992).

Ingredients:

50g wholemeal self – raising flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 50g wholemeal flour, 25g butter, 25g smooth thick peanut butter, 75g  mild cheddar cheese (grated), 25g blanched peanuts (finely chopped), 1 medium egg (beaten).

Method:

1. Sift the self – raising flour and wholemeal flour into a large bowl.
2. Add the baking powder and stir well.
3. Cut the butter into small cubes and put into the bowl.
4. Add the peanut butter.
5. Rub the mixture until it looks like fine breadcrumbs.
6. Stir in the cheese and peanuts.
7. Mix in the beaten egg to make a dough.
8. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and make biscuit shapes.
9. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C or Gas Mark 4.
10. Bake for 13 minutes.

From → Baking, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

