Skip to content

Shayberry Banana Bake

July 1, 2012

Poison Berry

I named this dish after my late good friend Shay.  She taught me this recipe during  an adventure we had as children.  We became friends while I was in Barbados, she was two years older than me and treated me like a sister.  One day we went picking for berries, we had been picking all morning (2 hours), so decided to make our own meal.  All Shay had was a few ingredients, I was not yet addicted to porridge and water, so I was disappointed with the selection of goods.  Not one cheesy snack!  Shay was determined I ate, so made something which I thought was a joke at first.  I was wrong to doubt her cooking ability for after the first bite I was delighted.
However, my joy did not last.  Shay’s brother told us that the berries were poisonous and the only way to get rid of the poison was to jump into the Caribbean ocean!   Gullible as we were we ran as fast as we could to the beach.  Not far from the road to Spring Garden in St James. I will never forget how fast we ran past the wooden houses with the old people  rocking on their verandas, commenting about our long legs, athletic ability and  “being up to no good”.  I remember jumping into the sea, then having a water fight, then having granbgran tell me to stop messing up the house and giving me a cookie before Sesame St.

  In honour of her memory I made her dish and renamed it after her.  Baking things that remind you of lost ones really helps the grieving process.  Although I was sad, I was smiling all day because of the warm beautiful smell of the hot fruit with cinnamon oats.

I added some poppy seeds to the recipes.

Ingredients:

1 overripe banana, average sized bowl of porridge oats, 2tbsps brown sugar, 2tsps cinnamon, 2 handfuls of blueberries, 1tsp poppy seeds, 1 tsp vanilla extract.

Shay microwaved the dish fo 45 second, I have baked it.

Method:

1. Mash up the banana in a bowl.
2. Add the oats, sugar, cinnamon, poppy seeds and vanilla.
3.Mix everything well.
4. Gently fold in the blueberries. Do not squash them.
5. Pre heat the oven to 130 degrees C.
6. Put in a ovenproof dish and bake for 10 minutes.
7. Cool a little before serving.

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

